Top Airmen honored at annual Nevada Air Guard Award Ceremony

Officials from the Nevada National Guard stand at attention during The National Anthem at the Nevada Air National Guard Award Ceremony Dec. 2, 2018 at the Nevada Air National Guard Base in Reno, Nev. Brig. Gen. William Burks (right) attended the ceremony for the last time as the Adjutant General of the Nevada National Guard.

The Nevada Air National Guard held its annual award ceremony on Sunday, December 2 at the Air Guard Base in Reno.

The service and dedication of top Airmen was honored at the event.

“I want to thank all the Airmen for the work they do to make the Nevada Air National Guard as great as it is,” said Brig. Gen. Ondra Berry, assistant adjutant general, Nevada Air National Guard.

The ceremony recognized nominations for top Airman, non-commissioned officer, senior non-commissioned officer, company grade officer and first sergeant in the state.

This year, the 152nd Airlift Wing received the National Guard Bureau Excellence in Diversity Award for Best Air National Guard Unit.

“It shows the efforts and work that our individuals, units and the Military Department in Nevada put into making sure no one is left behind or not included by the members of the Nevada National Guard,” said Brig. Gen. William Burks, adjutant general, Nevada National Guard.

The following awards were presented at the ceremony:

Chief Master Sgt. Gerald L. Larson Scholarship: Bailey Brown

Unit Career Advisor of the Year: Master Sgt. Coleen Glynn

Recruiter of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Kraig Kimball

Top Professional Recruiter of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Nicole Munley

Diversity Award: Master Sgt. Caroline Cousineau

Excellence in Diversity Award, Best Air National Guard Unit: 152nd Airlift Wing

Chiefs Council Award: Fred Barton

Commander’s Excellence Award:

  • State Headquarters: Lt. Col. Brian Gunderson
  • 152nd Airlift Wing: Maj. Christopher Solberg
  • 152nd Maintenance Group: Senior Master Sgt. Reuben Telles
  • 152nd Mission Support Group: Deployment Readiness Team
  • 152nd Medical Group: Public Health Section
  • 152nd Operations Group: Senior Master Sgt. Tregg Jackson
  • 152nd Intelligence Squadron: Master Sgt. Maureen Bartlet
  • 232nd Operations Squadron: Master Sgt. Anna Lansdell

Recipients of the Adjutant General’s Silver State Sentinel Award for Excellence: Retired Chief Master Sgt. Cindy Sullivan and the Nevada State Headquarters Recruiting and Retention Office.

Airman of the Year quarterly nominations: Senior Airman James Ward; Airman 1st Class Nico Ambata; Senior Airman Kathereene Caliolio; Airman 1st Class Mia Carney.

Non-commissioned Officer of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Rita Middleton; Staff Sgt. Chelsea Canaday; Tech. Sgt. Nicole Munley; Tech. Sgt. Katie Cromeens.

Senior Non-commissioned Officers of the Year: Senior Master Sgt. Sherdean Din; Senior Master Sgt. Jason Barlow; Master Sgt. Brandan Trehal; Master Sgt. Thomas Henson.

Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Erica Steele; Capt. David Lynn; 1st Lt. Timothy Buxton.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off